Blog Tour - Hold On

About the CD: Eric Robertson, a popular producer in Provo, has brought together an impressive list of talented vocalists to sing on new, fresh productions of classic Michael McLean songs. The vocalists include some of the top names from the burgeoning Provo music scene, including Elaine Bradley, from Neon Trees, and Ryan Innes, one of the top contestants on NBC's The Voice. Eric grew up listening to Michael McLean songs and still feels a strong connection to them. This album is an effort to pay tribute to those songs and produce them in a way that will speak to a younger generation of LDS youth.

Track List

Hold On, the Light Will Come feat. Scott Shepard
Give a Little Bit of Yourself feat. Catherine Leavy
You're Not Alone feat. Andrew Langdon
Gentle feat. Drew Danburry
I Can't Do Everything feat. Brooke White of American Idol
Homeless feat. Ryan Innes of The Voice
You've Always Been There for Me feat. Elaine Bradley of Neon Trees
Share the Joy feat. Severin Bozung
Be the Joy feat. Eric Robertson
Promise of Light feat. Adam and Darcie Sanders
**Individual tracks available on iTunes.

My review: This CD was just okay for me. I really liked I Can't do Everything performed by Brooke White and You've Always Been There for Me performed by Elaine Bradley. But for me the rest of the songs were just okay. Maybe part of that is that I remember the original versions of most of these songs and you really just can't beat that original version. It did seem to me that some of the tracks were trying way too hard to be 90's techno music and that really took away from the songs to me. I do think that it's a really fun idea for people to get together and re-do some of Michael McLean's great music. 

I was sent a copy of this CD in exchange for an honest review.

Labels: ,